Worcestershire Architecture Awards

Entries for the 2017 awards have now closed, the winners were announced after the public exhibition on Saturday 26th August 2017.  Click here to view all of the entries to the Worcestershire Architecture Awards 2017 and see which projects won.

About the Awards

2017 saw the launch of the Worcestershire Architecture Awards by the Worcestershire Society of Chartered Architects.

The awards have been set up to recognise good architecture in Worcestershire, engage with the public and promote the value that using an architect can bring to the local environment.  A jury consisting of architects and non-architects judged the submissions.

A free exhibition, open to the public was held at The Guildhall, Worcester on Saturday 25th August 2017 from 10am until 4pm.  This was followed by the awards reception.

  • Image copyright W Leah Photography. http://www.wleahphotography.co.uk

This celebration of local architects and architecture coincided with the end of the successful Worcester Festival.

Project Categories

Entries were invited to be submitted into the following six categories:

01 – private house, Worcestershire, built project

02 – private house, Worcestershire, unbuilt project

03 – Worcestershire, built project

04 – Worcestershire, unbuilt project

05 – outside Worcestershire, built project

06 – outside Worcestershire, unbuilt project

Submissions for categories where the entered project must be in Worcestershire (01, 02, 03 and 04) can be by an eligible entrant based anywhere.

Submissions for categories outside of Worcestershire (05 and 06) must be by Worcestershire based eligible entrants.

Worcestershire will be defined as the boundaries of the local planning authorities within the county.

Submissions for built projects (01, 03 and 05) must have been completed (having reached Practical Completion) since May 2015.

Submissions for unbuilt projects (02, 04 and 06) must not be due to start on site before June 2018.

Submissions for the ‘private house’ categories (01 and 02) can be any single residence project, e.g. new build, restoration, conversion, extension etc.  Submission for the other categories can be any project that is not a single residence.

All submitted projects will be eligible to be shortlisted for the ‘People’s Choice’ award.


Submissions must be designed by a qualified architect or by an architectural practice at least one of whose principals is a qualified architect, or by a student on an RIBA validated course.

Judging Criteria

Entries will be assessed on the extent to which they demonstrate, in the opinion of the judges, fitness for purpose, elegance of design and the contribution they make to the built environment.

Submission Deadline

Entries for the 2017 awards have now closed.

Terms and Conditions

Full details and terms and conditions are set out on the entry form.